County’s election season now underway

Tunica County voters return to the polls Feb. 1 to help fill the unexpired term of the late Bill Minor of Holly Springs, Northern District Transportation Commissioner.
John Caldwell of Nesbit and Mike Tagert of Starkville were the top two finishers in the Jan. 11 special election, each garnering just over 20 percent of the vote. Warner McBride of Courtland ran third, but only the top two finishers advance to the run-off.

{paypalaccess}Read more{/paypalaccess}
Caldwell is a former member of the DeSoto County Board of Supervisors and currently director of transportation for DeSoto County Schools.
Tagert is president of the Tenn-Tom Waterway Development Council. Both men ran as Republican Party candidates.
Tunica County voters gave the edge to McBride, but Caldwell picked up 80 local votes to Tagert’s 8.
The election season for county offices got underway Jan. 1, the first day for filing qualifying papers.
Early qualifiers in Tunica County (as of January 18) include: Rechelle Siggers and Wealthia “Susie” White, Chancery Clerk; Sharon G. Reynolds, Circuit Clerk; Glenn Grant and Scott Peeples, Coroner; Eugene Bridges, Constable, Northern District; Lil Joe Anderson, Constable, Southern District; Ellis Darby and Louise Linzy, Justice Court Judge, Southern District; Rodney Hibbler, Justice Court Judge, Northern District; K.C. Hamp, Sheriff; Joe Lee (Doc) Canada, Steve Chandler and Dexter Green, Superintendent of Education; Norma J. Anderson, Leigh Graves and Robert Hall, Tax Assessor/Collector; Cedric “Bam Bam” Burnett, Supervisor, District 2; Linda Fay Engle-Harris, Supervisor, District 4; and William E. Pegram, Supervisor, District 5.
The last day for qualifying is March 1. Party primaries are August 2, with the general election set for November 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *