CCC’s Horton to be named as Coach of Year

Coahoma Community College Athletic Director and Head Football Coach Freeman Horton will be honored Friday, June 25 in Jackson, Miss. as Mississippi’s Community College Football Coach of the Year.
The recognition will take place at the Mississippi Association of Coaches Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet at the Hilton Hotel in Jackson.

{paypalaccess}Read more{/paypalaccess}

Directing Coahoma’s historic winning season and MACJC’s North Division playoff berth, Horton was the unanimous choice for ‘Coach of the Year’ honors announced in the fall of 2009.
“I am very proud of our players who had an outstanding season,” comments Horton. “In the face of terrific obstacles, they just never quit.”
Dr. Vivian Presley, Coahoma Community College’s president, praised Horton, his coaches, and players as extraordinary role models at Coahoma.
“This was a wonderful season and we’re looking forward to another one this fall,” she said.
Other Mississippi Association of College and Junior Colleges Coaches of the Year being honored are Richard Mathis, men’s basketball, Pearl River Community Colleges; Gwyn Young, women’s basketball, Copiah-Lincoln; Sam Temple, baseball, Hinds Community College; Tim Gust, men’s tennis, Hinds; and Barry Thrash, men’s soccer, GCC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *